The application process for the 2014 RegioStars Awards is now open. The Award Categories for 2014 are:

1. SMART GROWTH: SME innovation
2. SUSTAINABLE GROWTH: Green growth and jobs through Bio-economy
3. INCLUSIVE GROWTH: Creating jobs for the young generation
4. CITYSTAR: Investment projects in sustainable urban public transport
5. Major Investment Projects: Energy efficiency and the low carbon economy

Applications should be sent by 19 April 2013 to . The selected finalists will have the opportunity to showcase their projects before an independent jury during the 11th annual European Week of Regions and Cities - OPEN DAYS 2013. The Award ceremony itself will take place in Brussels in early 2014. The Award Ceremony for the RegioStars Awards 2013 will be held on 31 January 2013 at the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels.

About the RegioStars Awards
The objective of the RegioStars Awards is to identify good practices in regional development and to highlight original and innovative projects which could be attractive and inspiring to other regions. The RegioStars awards form part of the Commission's Regions for Economic Change initiative, which aims to highlight good practice in urban and regional development. Further information on how to apply, including on the eligibility and awards criteria, can be found on the
RegioStars website.

Picture: In October 2012 the RegioStars Jury, chaired by Mr Luc Van den Brande, had chosen 27 across 5 categories that will compete for the final awards in a ceremony on 31 January 2013. (Copyright: Open Days - European Week of Cities and Regions via Flickr)

Source: RegioStars